Opening Lines: Papercut stop-motion video by Owen Gildersleeve

Have I mentioned that I love papercut art? Well, tuck that into your brain if you weren’t aware, because you’ll be seeing a lot of it from me. Have I also mentioned that I love stop-motion video? Well, tuck that into…

You get the picture.

Owen Gildersleeve is a papercut illustrator living in London. He’s on my list of paper artists that I follow, and I got really excited when I saw him mention this short video, produced for The Guardian. The film visualized opening lines from classic literature, and you were to guess which book they belonged to. I had that thing NAILED. And then I found out you had to be a U.K. resident to enter. WHATEVER, BRITS.

Nevertheless, the video is still enjoyable, and you can still have a whack at figuring out the titles. On Owen’s website, you can also see a few photos of the production. Fascinating, I say.

Opening Lines from Owen Gildersleeve on Vimeo.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: the art school, the film & tv studio, the library

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a reply